Statement jewellery: My favourite piece

Statement jewellery: Its powers to transform an outfit are pretty much legendary at this stage!

I myself have a favourite piece of jewellery which I thought I’d tell you about. It’s a little hard to describe, being somewhere between a necklace and a cape – a neckape or a capelace perhaps? (erm…making up portmanteaus may not be my forte!)

Anyway the point is that it’s pretty unique. I found it on River Island online and I can’t remember exactly but I think it was about £80/£90. That’s more than I’d normally spend being quite a fan of costume, tackilicious numbers (my friend Sophie made that one up years ago – ie, a cross between tacky and delicious!). But it just goes to show that when you see something you really like, especially if you’ve never seen anything else like it, you should get it. Otherwise you’ll only regret it…so buy now and don’t regret it later!

Also my friend Andrei was throwing a big 1920s party at the time which I thought it would tie in perfectly with. Here’s a few more photos of me wearing it to that party below.party2

party4The great thing about this piece is its flexibility. You could throw it on with jeans and a vest top and it would instantly make the outfit more special. Or wear it to a more formal occasion, such as to an awards ceremony like below. (Those lovely people I’m with are my work colleagues btw.)

With my colleagues at an awards ceremony for the best convenience stores in Ireland
With my colleagues at an awards ceremony for the best convenience stores in Ireland

Most recently I wore this capelace (I’m just going to go with that!) to my friend Patricia’s hen party at the weekend which had a ‘Black and Bling’ theme. Incidentally, if anyone’s looking for hen or birthday inspiration, Patricia’s party was at Bunratty Castle and we got a brilliant package which included an overnight stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel, a medieval banquet in the Castle itself and breakfast, all for just €109. The banquet comes complete with medieval entertainment so it’s something really different and will definitely stand out for your friends and family. For the Black and Bling theme, I just wore my necklace over a plain black dress; easy yet effective! Unfortunately I don’t have any photos which show it clearly as I’m doing things like hugging people/holding drinks (typical photo actions really!) Anyway you get my drift; a unique piece of statement jewellery can add style to any ensemble.

I bought this in River Island last year so it’s not available anymore (Good for me, not so good for everyone else, sorry!) But they do have some similar items available, namely this harness which they have in gold and silver (£50) and this jewelled cape (£55) (both of which I’ve now belatedly realised are considerably better names than ‘capelace’!) Check out http://www.bettyandbiddy.com, http://www.embelish.ie and http://www.buttonandbowfactory.com for some more great statement jewellery as well.

Harness (£50)
Harness (£50)
Jewelled cape
Jewelled cape (£55)
Leave a Reply

